Many cities replace parks and farmlands with houses. Is it a positive and negative development?

Past years have witnessed a great transformation in urban land use where parks and farmlands are generally replaced by houses. From my perspective, the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages. It is doubtless that the general public and local administration can benefit a lot from the construction of an increasing number of accommodations. In many cities, economic reform has resulted in a significant and steady growth in the urban population, which gives rise to a disproportion between the existing housing resources and the massive demands of citizens and migrants. In this way, the vast construction of houses makes it possible for the public to own a place to settle in and improve their living conditions to an extent. Meanwhile, the authorities gain revenues and taxes in the course of housing construction, which can be used to fund other infrastructure improvements in the city. Nonetheless, the removal of farmlands and parks will cause irreparable damage to the city. For one thing, once the farming area has been reduced, there would be difficulties in meeting local residents’ demands for fresh agricultural products. As a result, they have to seek food from elsewhere, which proves to be far more costly and time-consuming, and the food transported from a long distance is not as fresh as that grown on nearby farms. Consequently, the public is expected to suffer from heavier burdens of living than before. On the other hand, city parks play a vital role in fulfilling recreational functions and protecting cities from environmental problems. City dwellers enjoy the tranquillity of a park as an escape from the hustle and bustle, a place to release their pressure, and a place to develop active lifestyles that help them avoid or lessen physical and mental health problems. Some wild animals and plants are left in their natural habitats to coexist with human beings and preserve biodiversity.. On the contrary, a world of housing blocks is full of noise, pollution, and environmental disruption, which is definitely unable to present to people the beauty of nature. In conclusion, the loss of farmlands and parks takes a toll on the wellbeing of city dwellers, so the housing problems should not be resolved at the cost of parks and farmlands