Now a day the surveillance is happening at almost all public places. Is it good or perceived bad by people? What are advantages and disadvantages?

Public security is paramount for every nation. Therefore, public places are being monitored with specialized cameras and people's activities are being tracked. Just as every coin has a flip side this surveillance brings both positive as well as negative impacts on our life. I would discuss both the pros and cons of this concept, however, I elucidate that the advantages on any day outweigh the disadvantages. Surveillance has myriad merits. The first and predominant one is the reduction in the crime rate. In other words, the crime rate significantly decreased especially in public places in the last few years. At initial, crimes such as murders, shoplifting, robberies, burglary etc were difficult to track and criminals always had a way to escape and they were not shy away from committing another crime. But now, the situation has changed, everybody is being monitored properly by police to lower the crime rate. To exemplify this point, I would quote an example of Mumbai's terrorist attack in 1993 that killed thousands of people and every attack was on public places such as trains, parks, and markets. If those places would have monitored, Mumbai police would have stopped such attacks. Furthermore, one more convincing point that can not be ignored is the economy. Some public places for example theatres, national parks, stations, museums etc. generate revenue for the country. If people don't visit those places due to fear factors then it has an adverse impact on the economy which is not an ideal scenario for any nation. On the other hand, no one can deny the demerits of surveillance. One of the biggest problems with this is that the data is being sold to analytical companies for marketing purposes. I think everyone has the right to privacy and should be respected. To justify, google tracks every activity you perform on your phone and share it with Facebook for marketing purpose. To overcome this, authorities should enforce strict legislation to mitigate this problem. In conclusion, I recapitulate that there are innumerable strong arguments that support surveillance and how it positively impacts our life. Although there are some negatives they can be controlled with stringent countermeasures. I would end this essay by saying: Precaution is better than Prevention