Some people say that companies who sponsor big games can gain a lot; other people believe that it has disadvantages for them. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Nowadays, various companies realize the benefits of being a promoter in play matches, which gain a lot of attention from individuals across the world, while some people argue that supporting games can have negative effects on them. In this essay, the advantages and disadvantages of posting advertisements in big tournaments will be presented before my perspective on both views is reached. On the one hand, being a sponsor in popular matches can effectively increase brand awareness among consumers. As the logo is being seen by millions of the audience who watch sports, people will realize it and be convinced to try the products as soft power. For example, the football world cup in 2018 had been watched by 70 per cent of audiences worldwide. As the result, the logo of companies that were sponsors of games such as Pepsi, Playstation, and many more, were noticed by a billion audiences. Furthermore, sponsoring athletes can build brand perception. To illustrate, Red bulls company, the world-famous energy drink, has been considered the drink for individuals who are obsessed with extreme sports because it is the promoter of these types of sports including car racing, skydiving, and so on. On the one hand, being a sponsor need to spend enormous money, which sometimes is not worthwhile for the companies regarding sales. According to BBC news, to broadcast the advertisement for 45 seconds on the Superbowl halftime show, they need to pay more than 15 million dollars, which does not make a desirable profit for some brands. Moreover, it may trigger misunderstandings of consumers toward the brand, If there is a mistake occurring. For instance, Nike, an international sportswear company had ever sponsored the football team, which involved racist black people, in that year the sale of Nike dramatically decreased all over the world. In conclusion, according to the aforementioned benefits of sponsoring the big match. In my opinion, they should take the opportunity to support tournaments as they can increase awareness and better perception of brands among customers.