Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

It is believed that the level of health of a society can be improved by creating new sport facilities. I truly support this view and in this essay will explain my beliefs. One of the main disadvantages of increasing the number of sport facilities in cities is insufficient usage of urban space. Large number of new buildings might bring other health related issues. For example, to build a brand new sport center, it is required to construct a road and a high number of parking slots, which can take extra land. Instead of new constructions, the space could be used by recreational areas, like parks and lakes. On the other hand, popularization of sport by increasing the number of places where people can do it, might have a huge impact on the habits of individuals. For instance, having a training studio instead of a fast food restaurant near your house can change the priorities of where to spend evening hours. I support the idea that if there are more possibilities around to follow healthy routines instead of damaging your health, people are going to choose the former due to common sense. In conclusion, while there are some disadvantages of increasing the number of sports facilities, like alongside growth of infrastructure, formation of healthy habits of society might be the essential benefit.