Some people think that schools should reward students who show the best academic results, while others believe that it is more important to reward students who show improvement. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Giving rewards to students is ongoing for decades. A few people argue that students should be rewarded for good academic performance, whereas the rest of the community claims that importance should be given to their improvement rather than marks. In my view, both claims are valid from their point of view due to various reasons. In this essay, I would discuss both views in detail with relevant examples and explanations. On the one side, pupils are given appreciation based on their performance in studies due to several reasons. Firstly, when students receive a reward for their good marks, they feel confident and would try much harder in the next exam or term to get a precious gift as a form of appreciation. Lastly, rewards could be the medium to teach them that if you do good then you will be rewarded. This feeling gives them some kick to do much better next time. As result, they would get better job opportunities in future based on considerable academic results. On the other side, pupils should be appreciated for their improvement in studies more than before, because upon reward they might feel anchorage and would eager to perform their best next time. Moreover, rewards can be a means of changing their views towards studies. For example, some students think that it is not useful to get better marks in school as their success depends upon their hard work. However, they have been getting much better results after the warning session with the principal, they would think in a different way that their image has been not the same as before. Hence, this change in thinking strategies from diverting point of view allows them to get better marks in the next exam. In conclusion, after discussing both views it is obvious that whether to give rewards for their marks or improvement, both can make them work harder and boost their confidence in them. This would be even more helpful for them to achieve their desired goals in life.