Foreign visitors should pay more than local visitors for cultural and historical attractions. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is believed by some that tourists from overseas ought to pay an extra amount of fee to visit cultural and historical attraction sites. From my perspective, I completely disagree with the viewpoint. One main problem it might be inappropriate is that charging a different fee rate can defeat the purpose of setting these tourist sites. The main purpose of constructing such sites is in the aim of promoting local historical and cultural knowledge to people worldwide. However, charging a higher price for foreign travellers can dampen their passion and interest to learn about the attraction, and can further dissuade them to visit such sites and eventually result in a converse situation from the initial expectation. Another issue that can be anticipated is that foreign tourists might derive a sense of dissatisfaction owing to the unequal pricing measure. For example, travellers might feel like they have been exploited or robbed; hence, lowering their willingness to visit the places and eventually bringing an apprehended development to the local economy. People who stand on the opposite side might assert that the locals already pay part of the fee through taxation; thus foreign tourists should be asked to pay more to earn the maintenance. Nevertheless, it can be a shortsighted thought. Numbers of countries rely on the income of tourism to support the local economy; however, by charging a higher fee to foreign tourists to earn the funds, many might find it dissatisfying and opt to travel to other countries which can undermine the local economy, as mentioned. Take Taiwan national palace museum for example. In lieu of raising the price, it offers discounts for international tourists periodically, with the purpose of attracting more tourists and can also facilitate the museum to promote the cultural heritage of Taiwan. In conclusion, I believe foreign tourists should not be asked to be charged more as it can be against the nature of the educational purpose and the implications can be highly destructive to the local economy.