Many cities are now turning parks and farmland into new housing developments. Is this a positive or negative development?

Urbanization has recently been a trend in most cities and towns. Some think it is good to see farms and green belts replaced by new buildings, I agree with those who argue that there are lots of drawbacks to this change. Firstly, farms and plant removal will deteriorate air quality, and worsen the natural environment. Trees and plants play a critical role in the weather system, including air purification, and prevention of soil and water loss. Thus, without enough vegetation the temperature in towns will fluctuate vigorously between days and nights and air pollution will remain. For instance, Shanxi province in China became a desert after deforestation for building new houses. Secondly, people in cities need parks to relax due to pressure from work and family. Nowadays, more individuals are suffering from a heavy workload, and it is quite pleasant to enjoy a picnic in a natural environment, smell the perfume of flowers and watch kids chasing each other. Obviously, without gardens and farms, residents in cities will probably have a higher risk of mental issues. For example, researchers found that more individuals living in Tokyo have been seeking help from psychiatrists since significant urbanization in the 1980s. Admittedly, more housing programs will bring more residents and boost the economy, which means more job positions and taxpayers. It also can help stabilize the housing market and relieve the mortgage burden of young house buyers. However, meanwhile more problems like air pollution and criminals will show up due to more vehicles and a crowded population. In conclusion, turning parks and farmlands into resident buildings will worsen climate change and affect people’s mental health, although it could promote economic progress. We should explore other ways to meet the needs of housing requirements.