Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Focusing on improving public health is essential for every nation. According to studies, with the recent development, people focus more on having successful careers rather than their own health. Different views exist regarding the best way to improve public health. On one hand, people believe that sports facilities should be increased in number. On the other hand, some others argue that this would have little impact and other measures are required as well, to which I agree. By increasing the number of such facilities, they can be available to the population at a shorter distance which can motivate them to avail these facilities. For instance, having a tennis court about ten minutes from where you live will motivate one to play tennis often as compared to when the court is about thirty minutes away. Moreover, having multiple such establishments, will also reduce the pressure on the facilities and avoid any overcrowding. On the contrary, some people believe that having multiple facilities nearby is not enough motivation for an individual. One way in which the population can be motivated is by providing access to such facilities either free of cost or at a reasonable rate. The government can also step in and help facilities like the gym by providing them with some grants so that the gym membership fees can be made affordable. Although, doing physical exercise is important, eating healthy is equally essential. The government should encourage colleges, schools and even offices to provide healthy meals in their canteens and even organise some sporting activities periodically. In the same way, the government should also levy heavy taxes on the fast-food chains which serve less healthy food. In conclusion, though increasing the number of sporting facilities will help in a way, in my opinion, many additional measures such as encouraging healthy meals are also required to achieve the objective of improving public health.