Some people feel that manufactures and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of foods. Others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There has been a long debate about whether manufacturers and supermarkets or the customers should take the responsibility of reducing the packaging of goods. From my point of view, it is the first part that has a greater significance during this process of limiting package. It is undeniable that the manufacturers who critically participate in the entire supply chain allow changes for this purpose from the source. By doing so, profits from reducing packaging are increased, allowing sustainable long-term development of the production chain. Besides that, retailers and producers often have the financial resources to invest in research and development for sustainable packaging alternatives and, therefore, play a crucial role in influencing the packaging industry. Thus, both the producers and distributors could take the duty of limiting the amount of packaging of goods. Strongly I believe, on the flip side, customers have minor power to drive changes towards the aim of decreasing the overall packaging for the following reasons. Customers' actions of choosing products according to their packaging type can collectively create pressure back on producers, encouraging them to supply less-packaged goods. However, although individuals have the power to drive the evolution of wrapping patterns by making different purchasing decisions of avoiding heavily packaged goods, their role in the whole production process remains neglectable. In conclusion, considering the power of manufacturers on the entire production chain and the financial supply, I would once reaffirm my position that production companies and supermarkets have a greater role in reducing the packaging of products.