Some people think that family life and parents have great influences on children’s development. Do you agree or disagree?

It is thought that parents and family life bring significant effects on the growing-up process of kids. I personally agree with this point of view. I would argue that children's behaviour reflects that of their parents. Since mothers and fathers are the first ones kids recognise from when they were born, they tend to copy most of the activities and feelings which are shown by their moms and dads. For instance, a child may learn to be obey and polite to older people from the way his mother and father take good care of his grandparents. As a result, kids also imitate bad habits from family members as becoming violent with friends when witnessing their father hit innocent people or practising smoking and drinking as their parents do. In addition, family life and parenting would probably affect the development of boys and girls in either a positive or negative way. A happy and caring family and authoritative parents provide a great environment to bring up a child. By contrast, an authoritarian father who forces his sons and daughters to follow his strict rules may make them feel stressed, thereby leading to mental disorders such as anxiety and autism. Permissive parents may teach their sons and daughters to be more stubborn and aggressive while those who do not involve and care much about their kids would leave them lonely and shy. In conclusion, family is shown to have a big impact on nurturing youngsters. In my opinion, that is based on family life and parenting while children's behaviours mirror that of their parents.