New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

With the advancements in modern technologies, the pattern of consuming free time has changed a lot in recent years. Without a doubt, the most affected part of society is the children's section. I believe this trend of spending a huge amount of day using modern digital gadgets has far more disadvantages than benefits. Several downsides related to using digital products and information technology are clear. Firstly, children are spending most of their time playing computer games which is detrimental to their growth. Due to this, they do not go outside to play outdoor physically challenging games such as football and cricket. Therefore, this habit is not only hindering their growth but also affecting brain development. In addition, teenagers have become more introverted as they usually remain alone for the majority of the day. In fact, their social life is at significant risk as they do not physically interact with others. Their interpersonal skills are declining considerably by spending more hours on social media applications that lack the feature of face-to-face communication. However, it is argued that with the help of modern technology, the development of children has become easier compared to the past years. These days, adolescents can learn a variety of things by giving their leisure time to modern electronic products. For instance, moderate vocabulary is required to play electric interactive games on mobile which players automatically learn by playing them. Another beneficial aspect of consuming free moments on social media applications like Instagram and Facebook is that scope of friendship has increased quite a lot. Despite these upsides being relatively valid, it seems to me that the drawbacks of this phenomenon are much more than the positives so young individuals should spend more time with people and not on computers and mobiles. In conclusion, in my view, I am convinced that this pattern of giving an extra hour to modern applications and items, particularly in the young generation, is more dangerous than beneficial. It is better for them to maintain the balance between physical and digital to reap the benefits of both worlds.