More people put their personal information online (address, telephone number,…) for everyday activities such as socializing on social networks or banking purposes. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, the public display of private data such as mobile phone numbers and addresses on the internet for daily activities like socializing and financial purposes has been on the rise. Knowledge enhancement is a major benefit of this trend although there is an increased risk of cybercrime. I believe the good effects of this shift are more than the bad impact. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of this occurrence in the following paragraphs. Firstly, knowledge improvement is an important advantage. The display of personal contacts online has made it easy for people to connect with others whom they seek to obtain information from. For example, the information on the recent cholera outbreak was obtained from the health agency through calls because their phone number was made accessible on the website. This in turn made the understanding of cholera better. However,there is an increase in the rate of cybercrime especially internet fraud. Fraudsters have found it easy to hack into people's account since their bank detail was made public. Thus this allows for the illegal transfer of the victim's money and consequently makes them bankrupt. A study showed that 50-60% of the individuals who have become poor following online fraud are people whose financial detail are made open to the masses through online media. Hence, this is a bad effect on society. In my opinion, I believe that the online public display of personal information is beneficial because it aids to hasten the time of emergency response. This is because the contacts of the rescue team could be gotten from their internet page. To illustrate,the recent fire incident in Kano city was quickly stopped because the firefighters made their phone numbers public hence they were contacted early. To conclude,there has been a growing trend of media displays of private data. Although there is an increased risk of online crime, good effects like knowledge improvement and fast response to urgent situations are very important.