One of the most important issues facing the world today is a shortage of food and some think genetically modified food is a possible solution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?.

Malnutrition due to starvation is the biggest issue worldwide, particularly in developing nations. It is considered by some people that this problem can be overcome by altering production using genetic techniques. I strongly agree with the above view as I think this is the only way to boost crop yield, which can satisfy the growing population's food requirement. The opposer to this view might point out other solutions to the foodstuff shortage like reduction of meat wastage. This could help to feed a number of poor people who would not afford to buy food otherwise, but this approach might be difficult to implement as it will need a lot of behaviour modification on an individual level; For example, this solution requires several earlier steps: prepares in low quantity, preserving unused food, donating to the organisation, and redistribution to needy. Another concern might be raised by some people is that the possible harmful effects this may cause upon the consumption of such food on the human race. Mutating or introducing some genes of seeds does not mean that the future crop will possess deteriorating properties; To illustrate, a gala variety of apples gives more apples without causing any negative effects on its consumers. One of the major reasons why hybrid food is the definitive way to tackle the food shortage is that it can enhance crop yield dramatically. This is the root cause of ongoing starvation. As a result, producing a greater amount of grains and vegetables could alleviate the situation of meal shortage. For instance, a genetic mutation in peas can result in a 50 per cent higher harvest. Furthermore, genetics also enables us to have a shorter harvesting period without compromising quality. Thus, farmers can harvest it earlier and can have an additional farming season, which would result in a higher amount of total production in a defined period. In conclusion, although some people might be worried about the use of genes to tackle the lack of food in many parts of the world, I strongly believe that this is the best way to produce more food. This can solve the hunger problem by supplying food to the ever-growing human population in today's world.