Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now “one big traffic jam”. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

It is a fact that four-wheeler management is rapidly increasing all over the world,especially in cars. Although a vehicle like a car plays a significant role in a family, it adversely affects society in the form of traffic congestion. I think that the notion stands to reason that a dramatic increase in car management leads to traffic blocks. In order to control this growth of car usage governments have to mitigate the issue by implementing rules on purchasing four-wheelers. Generally, all families depend on cars for their daily life journey. A car in a family can reduce the cost of travelling and time accordingly. In fact, increasing the number of vehicles on the road could create traffic congestion which cannot be unavoidable. For example, during working and school leaving times there would be huge traffic in main cities. However, the governments could control this situation by implementing strict rules for using vehicles on the road. For instance, prohibiting a single person from travelling in a car at peak traffic durations is strictly prohibited by the Japanese government which reduces traffic blocks. In addition, the law should increase the tax for four-wheelers which also helps to reduce their consumption and forcefully leads people to use city buses for their journey. Furthermore, scrapping rules for old cars could be helpful to reduce the number of vehicles on the road. For example, scrapping rules implemented by the Indian government help to reduce pollution as well as the number of cars on the road. In the end, governments have to promote various methods of travelling for society as to develop water metros, city buses, trams etc. To conclude, a hike in the usage of cars creates huge traffic blocks on the road which can control by the authority by commissioning strict rules and awareness courses. As a result, transit systems will work better, and reduce accidents and also pollution.