In western countries, people spend a lot of money on their pets. They buy special food for their cats or dogs, buy them toys and often pay high fees for medical treatment. Some people think this is a waste of money, and argue that pets are dirty and dangerous. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a pet? Do people spend too much money on pets?

It is undoubtable that in more and more Western countries people keep dogs or cars. Some people believe that they bring lots of happiness, while others argue that pets are dirty and dangerous, and they will cost too much money. From my point of view, I agree that pets will have more benefits. Initially, most people like to keep pets at home, as they can bring happiness to them and sometimes they are useful. On top of that, a smart and cute dog or cat will bring a feeling of safety to a lonely grandfather or grandmother, whose son or daughter lives far away. For example, you can see many elder people walk with their dogs instead of their family members. Also, pets can help people do some little things, for instance, a guide seeing eye dog can help a blind person walk across the road with traffic. How useful the dog is! In contrast, some pets have disadvantages. To commence with, they make you feel uncomfortable or even bring horrible things to you. For example, my daughter, Elly, was bitten by a small dog, and after that, whatever size of dogs, such as a puppy or a big dog she meets on a road, she will run far away. In addition, It would cost too many dollars to feed a pet. For instance, an article published by an American vet study organization said, one family in America needs to pay $2000 for a dog to buy food or do surgery on it. In conclusion, never should we neglect what we have discussed above, and I firmly hold the view that pets will bring more advantages to not only young men but also to older adults.