In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, some have argued that the population of elderly people is causing problems for the government. Others say that there are many advantages to a community having people who are in late adulthood. This essay aims to identify if the benefits of having a population of older people outweigh the drawbacks or vice versa. The main benefit of elderly people in society is they clarify and explain our history and culture. Technology development makes young people miss their identity and misunderstand their culture, meanwhile, older people are stuck in their values of culture and talk about it almost every moment, having said that they remind and teach children and young people social and cultural values. It is considered to be respectful with them and know how to treat them well because they have experience in life. To illustrate that, some people prefer to ask for advice from elderly people because they find them more wise in making decisions. However, from my perspective, the oldest people play a crucial part in our society today for cohesion and intellectual diversity.  There are also some disadvantages of overpopulation of elderly people because they need good care from their families or nursing homes. It is also pointed out that they tend to be more sensitive and difficult to deal with sometimes, which puts their families under high pressure and stress when they try to look after them. Many elderly people are suffering from different illnesses such as diabetes, Alzheimer and blood pressure. For instance, treating these illnesses could cause a high pressure on the government and health care system to provide a good medical staff, nursing homes and hospitals for them. Eventually, there are some issues that the government might face when they are investing more in health services, but l believe that the benefits for elderly people outweigh the drawbacks. In conclusion, although we might face many problems with the treatment or care of elderly people. But I think that they are role an essential part of our community of being close to our culture and identity. For these reasons, the positives far outnumber the negatives.