Some people think history has little or nothing to offer, while others say the study of the past helps us understand the present. Discuss both the viewpoints and give your opinion.

History aids to discern past events and discoveries. However,there is a general opinion that history does not provide any kind of benefits while some people concur that learning about past incidents helps us learn about the present.These topics have been discussed profoundly and I will discuss my point before coming to a conclusion. Firstly, some people believe that history is all about past mistakes and spending more time on it is a waste of time. As a result,these people discourage the inclusion of history in the school curriculum., Instead,they emphasise the requirement of other subjects like Science,Mathematics and Languages.Because in most people's perspective the purpose of education is to accomplish career goals in technical and business sectors.To illustrate, most students in India select science or commerce as their major subjects.Whereas,it is a fact that these subjects also have a history of their development. On the other hand, a few people are concerned about past events and their impacts on society. Comparison between the past and present makes people understand how this world has changed over time. The main advantages are learning from past mistakes and changes in the lifestyle of human beings. The special benefits of learning history are individuals can be connected to their traditional roots and cultural diversities. For instance, Onam is a traditional festival in Kerala. Now, people can celebrate this as they get pieces of information from their ancestors. To sum up,each and every aspect of human life is bound by things that have a long history to tell.I believe that without having a clear-cut picture of past events,it would be difficult to live a social life. Therefore, it is mandatory to know and learn from history.