Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, authorities allocate a significant portion of their budget to equip roads and build new railways. There is an argument saying that government should equip railways rather than using the money for roads. Although I accept this statement, I believe roads are completely important as railways are, so the same amount of money should be spent on them. As mentioned earlier, the government should spend enough money on equipping roads. Roads are the most common way of transportation and they are usually utilized in urgent situations. So redesigning and equipping roads is highly important. Recent studies have shown the poor road condition has effect on 40% of accidents which means rebuilding roads could prevent some ofthe accidents. Additionally, equipping roads with proper sign roads and adequate dumps and bumps could provide people with more convenience during the driving. On the other hand, spending money on railways is another priority. Public transportation is one of the proof of developed countries and civilised humans. Allocating money to railways and equipped railways encourages people to utilize public transportation and promotes this behaviour among the people which will decrease the traffic congestion during rush hours. In conclusion, regarding the aforementioned issues, government should properly divide its budget for both roads and railways.