Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is true that the figure of patients who prefer doing other approaches rather than visiting a doctor is growing. These people tend to try different methods that might have some effects; however, I strongly believe that seeing a doctor cannot be replaced with anything. There are some alternatives for regular treatment nowadays. Firstly, traditional methods that ill people used to use in the past have stayed popular among different strata of society. The overwhelming majority of prescriptions in this method include natural ingredients and herbs. Secondly, we can see many advertisements on social media that aim to persuade people to use their products. While they claim their medicines have been made using licensed and authentic materials, my experience says that they mainly lie. Thirdly, people may decide not to see a doctor because they have heard that they can cure themselves by following some regimes or by doing sports. As a matter of fact, while the aforementioned treatments may lead to negligible improvements for some specific illnesses, they can exacerbate the condition of patients. On the one hand, individuals who prescribe traditional medicines diagnose an illness based on their experience rather than scientific studies. On the other hand, science has not found the true advantages of many herbs yet. Those medicines that are being sold on social media have the same situation and are even worse. Self-treatment by any means is not also a valid method because there is no guarantee for that. In comparison, doctors devote many years of their lives to learning about different illnesses and their symptoms and how to deal with them using medicines that are prepared based on scientific tests in laboratories. To conclude, there are three predominant ways to encounter a disease apart from visiting a doctor, but neither of them can be used instead of a doctor's diagnosis.