“Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?”

Nowadays, the crime rate is increasing at an alarming rate and most of the crimes are committed by criminals who have served their punishment. There are several reasons behind that which will be discussed in this essay and the possible solutions will be suggested to curb this concern with a suitable conclusion. Firstly, crimes are mostly committed by youngsters because they are unemployed, depressed or drug addicted and to fulfil their needs they attempt crimes. Secondly, there is no hard punishment after committing their first crime considering that they will improve after serving the punishment, for instance in India, if a person is jumping a traffic light there are 200 Rs. charges, so it is easy for them to pay the amount without any worry in future. Additionally, bribing and VIP culture are also one of the causes like if a person is from a political background, they will get VIP treatment in the cells instead of punishment. Such kinds of offenders are more tend to serious crimes as it doesn't matter if they are serving any punishment or enjoying themselves in the cells. In order to solve this,problem strict measures should be taken, Firstly government should focus on unemployment issues so that youth will not get attracted to crime such as theft or drug addiction.Another action could be strict laws regarding punishment, for instance, youngsters should get strict punishment for their bad actions and then they should be sent to a rehab centre to get better medical attention to help in their psychological development. Moreover, This strict punishment will make them fear further attempting crimes. Furthermore, the government should strictly remove this VIP culture in cells and all the offenders should be treated equally and should serve equal punishment. To sum up, criminals should be given strict punishment so that they will not attempt further crime and for their psychological development they should be taken to rehab centres.