The best way to make the road transport of goods safer is to ask drivers to take a driving test each year. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays,yearly driving test by the transporters is considered to be the greatest measure of ensuring safe transport of commodities on land.I strongly disagree with this notion because factors such as the road condition contribute significantly to the outcome of land transport. This essay will discuss my point of views. To begin with, about 70%-80% of the success of road transportation is attributed to the state of the roads. Good tarred pathways that do not have potholes makes the movement of commodities by vehicle easy and comfortable because the driver would not carry out wrong driving practices such as sudden pedal match on break pads and change of gears. For example,adequate roads makes the transporters to drive at a good speed with good application of driving patterns. Furthermore, the state of health of the person conveying the goods is essential for safety to be achieved. This is because drowsy state following excess intake of alcohol or deprivation of sleep results in accidents. Thus, the assessment of these factors are paramount in ensuring success while conveying goods on land. I strongly disagree with this notion because driving test is not a true means of assessment. It is affected by factors such as state of the car.Since the test is done using new brands of cars that are not utilized during the transport of materials. For instance, a recent research showed that 30% of motor-bike collision was caused by drivers that were examined by drivers' test only. In conclusion, although driving test is the most recommended way of assesing safety on the highway, I strongly disagree with this notion because it lacks credibility thus better measures like assessing the state of the pathways and health of the driver should be encouraged.