Some cities have vehicle free days when private cars,trucks and motorcycle are banned from the city center. People are encouraged to use public transportation such as buses , taxes and metro on vehicle-free days. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, Pollution is increasing day by day because of transportation in the city centre. So the government is bringing some policies where citizens are encouraged to use public transport instead of private, considering it as a vehicle-free day. Despite some disadvantages, this policy has so many advantages which will be discussed in further paragraphs with a suitable conclusion. Initiating with the benefits for the same, First and the foremost key benefit is, It helps in reducing pollution in the city centre, which is the most polluted area in every city. For instance, most of the factories or offices are located in the city centres where people travel daily for their job by car or any other means and due to,that it increases air pollution and noise pollution. Encouraging citizens to use public transport for a few days in a month will definitely help in improving air quality. Moreover, travelling by public transport is cheaper than travelling by private vehicle and as a result people will save money. Furthermore, it will also help in reducing parking issues in dense areas and there will be less chance of accidents. On the other hand, there are some disadvantages as well, Firstly, public transport will be overburdened these days as everyone will depend on that. Secondly, There will be more chances of getting late as public transport will be overpopulated and it will increase pressure on the public to leave home early to reach their workplace on time. For instance, If someone takes 30 minutes time to reach the office but now they have to leave at least 1 hour early, which is too much for some folks. To sum up, Although using public transport on specific days makes people annoyed sometimes It helps in reducing pollution and gives time to nature to heal itself. I believe, every city or town should have a policy for vehicle-free days where people should be encouraged to use public transport and should come out of their comfort zone.