Buying things on the internet, such as books, air tickets, and groceries is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the advancement in technology has changed the way of buying products drastically. The digital structure has created virtual shopping areas using which a person can acquire anything like books, air tickets, groceries, furniture, etc. from anywhere and get it delivered at any desired location. Even though all of this is done in a highly regularised environment, there exist some challenges to using it. This essay will discuss both advantages and disadvantages related to it, however, in my opinion, the benefits of using it will outweigh all of its risks. On the one hand, shopping becomes convenient with the use of the internet, it provides a wide variety of goods with comparison facilities, competitive and discounted prices, along with home delivery facilities. Otherwise, earlier a person used to visit different shops comparing the prices and features which was very time-consuming. For instance, on online sites like Amazon which is the largest shopping platform, everything is available online whether it is books, groceries, air tickets, furniture, etc. On this platform, an individual sitting at home can see photos, compare features and prices from the different sellers, and then can get that item at the doorstep. Therefore, purchasing using the technological platform becomes a highly popular and the easiest way to buy something. On the other hand, every technology has both good as well as bad sides, while we use to make payments by cash or swiping our cash or credit card in machines without sharing details with vendor. However, online shopping requires such details to be punched online as payment card numbers, internet banking credentials, etc. which might get misused by an unauthorised user. For example, one of the users gets honey trapped, as after adding bank information all the amount in the bank account got transferred to another account without authorisation. In countries like India, several cyber frauds are happening for which they have created independent entities to track these types of crimes. Though using these resources are highly affordable and the easiest way to shop, it has some risks associated with it which need to be considered before using it. In the conclusion, since, online shopping has some risks with it, in order to cope with it, the government is formulating several measures. Hence, in my opinion, the advantages of using these resources outweigh their disadvantages.