Some people believe that the best way to improve the general well-being of schoolchildren is to make physical education compulsory in all schools. Others, however, think this world have little effect on overall health and that other measures are needed. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, it is widely argued that having physical education classes forcibly in all schools is the best option for the general well-being of schoolchildren. On the other hand, some people say that this has slight impact on healthy life and the policy should be replaced another one. I will compare both opinions in this essay. Implementing the P.E. class compulsory has the advantage that children can have time to concentrate on doing sports. Because of the widespread of digital devices, for example, computers, smartphones, and video games, modern children do not have plenty of time for the daily exercises that are indispensable for appropriate growth. Doing sports constantly in classes will solve this trouble. Moreover, the importance of cooperation that students can learn from P.E. classes which leads to making better relationships with friends, may contribute to well-being of the daily life. Nevertheless, physical education classes may be too short to gain enough time for exercise for children. Furthermore, children who are not good at playing sports may feel the P.E. classes as a burden of their school life, and it would be the opposite to their well-being. Teaching the value of enough daily exercises and crucial customs, for instance, having nutritious meals and going to bed earlier, in an another class to encourage the student’s consciousness of the overall health may be the better way to improving the general well-being of schoolchildren. To conclude, although doing physical education in all schools compulsory has both advantages and disadvantages, I believe that compulsory physical education in schools is meaningless because the drawbacks of this outweigh the strong points. Also, I suppose that another policy such as teaching the importance of healthy customs in different classes will be more helpful for children ’s well-being.