Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

The discussion of what are the roles of post-secondary education has always been in the limelight. Although it is argued by many that universities should satisfy the needs of employment, I believe that the knowledge provided by universities should not be solely dominated by the job market. Instead, universities should offer easy entry to diverse courses for different needs and interests. On the one hand, for students who are enrolled in universities with a clear career goal, post-secondary education needs to prepare them well enough for their future careers. Some professions, particularly medicine, law, and engineering, require a related university degree and a professional credential. Accordingly, universities must provide such required education to support these students. The best example is the clinical medical program. It does not only offer structured medicine curriculums, but also equips all sets of clinical skills for future doctors corresponding to the program’s objectives, including but not limited to interpersonal, communication, and rapid decision-making skills. It is undeniable if a university fails to fulfil its functions, there would be no competent doctors serving our society. On the other hand, universities are also responsible to provide non-vocational subjects to help students without any clear pictures of their future occupations, to explore their interests and passions. As tertiary educational facilities, universities cannot neglect the needs of such students. The more different students are, the more various functions universities should have. One famous mathematic scientist in China, Dr VVVVVVV, took a music history course for his sole interest during his university study before later pursuing mathematics. He now still enjoys reading music history journals in his spare time to relax and manage his stress, although the knowledge of this area does nothing to his current career. In conclusion, based on the above discussion, universities should be multi-functional as they need to cater to students ’ distinct interests and various needs. There should not be any restrictions on the students who are willing to learn any knowledge to explore their passions, career choices, and even simply for a purpose of wellness.