Overpopulation of many urban centres around the world is a major problem. What are the causes of this and how can this problem be solved?

In this contemporary world, an increasing number of people are migrating to urban cities causing overpopulation. There are several reasons for this growing concern, but fortunately, there are some possible solutions to combat this problem. One of the main reasons for overpopulation in urban areas is migration. People from rural areas migrate to developed cities for a better quality of life. Many big companies in the cities offer great employment opportunities for potential employees. These organisations pay handsome salaries to their workers, which makes these businesses more attractive in the competitive job market. Consequently, when people get paid high wages they become wealthy and can afford any luxuries in life, thus improving their standard of living. Another cause is, many modern cities around the globe have great medical facilities such as hospitals with the latest technology and experienced specialists. As a result, to get better medical treatment many people start to reside in these regions; hence, enhancing their health conditions. One immediate practical solution to this problem is developing some industries or setting up big businesses in rural areas. This will allow many people to work for a local firm and get paid a similar remuneration as urban cities, instead of moving to a faraway place. Furthermore, governments should allocate hospitals with contemporary infrastructure to country areas, which will take some pressure away from the city hospitals. Therefore, more people will stay in their own towns instead of moving to cities. Lastly, more social events like parties and get-togethers should be organised in such areas, which will help society members to keep in touch with each other. In conclusion, the surplus availability of numerous resources in the urban cities makes them very attractive to the rural population, but there are many ways to control this excessive migration by developing regional areas. It is very important to take such actions in order to help cities function properly.