Many people these days travel far for work or spend more hours working. Does this trend have more advantages or disadvantages? What do you think about work-life balance?

Travelling for better opportunities is no harm unless it is not evading our physical and mental health. Staying away from home and spending too much time on work could have a negative influence on our lives. This essay will discuss various advantages and disadvantages of this aspect and will further discuss the importance of work -life balance. Nowadays, youngsters are looking for overseas opportunities and are willing to spend extra hours for earning more money. Most multinational organisations provide salaries based on hourly rates which allows flexibility to an individual to work less or more as per their capacity. Due to an attractive range of pay rates available, more and more people are travelling away from their homeland and putting in extra time for better returns. For example: Indian professionals are travelling to countries like Australia, Canada, and Ireland as the salary rate in these regions is almost double as compared to India. In addition, such countries also provide better living standards which is definitely an added advantage. On the other hand, the urge among today's generation to earn more money has made them work worms and they are almost forgetting the importance of other aspects of life like spending time with their loved ones, raising their children, focusing on their health and much more. This is the result of rising inflation as well as urbanisation that everyone wants to earn extra in order to meet the specific standards of society. Many of us are too busy to realise that our mental health is getting affected. Studies have shown that people doing overtime are prone to more mental diseases than a person doing a reasonable 8 hours job and living a happy life. Therefore, in the conclusion, I would say that no doubt, we all have wishes and desires and in order to fulfil those, we have to travel and spend extra time on jobs. However, it is the need of the hour to realise the importance of maintaining a balance between work and life as money would be of no use if we are not healthy to enjoy its benefits.