Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now “one big traffic jam”. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

In the past thirty years, owning a car became a highly common aspect in the majority of countries, thus leading to massive traffic in their cities. Hence governments can limit the use of cars through various actions. I totally agree with this statement and this essay will explain further. To commence with, the population of the world is developing rapidly and the era of evolution made life more demanding, as a result, people seek to facilitate their lives by buying their own cars in an attempt to save time and money. For instance, most of the companies are located in the cities, however, some people come to work from extremely far areas that might lack public transportation, therefore they buy their own cars and as a result, the traffic in the cities becomes worse. On the other hand, the government should take some serious actions to limit the use of automobiles since it has a negative impact not only on the population but also on the environment. Increasing the car taxes, tolls and public parking costs are measures that lead people to avoid using their own cars and look for alternatives. Moreover, governments should develop the infrastructure by establishing a transportation system that meets the citizen’s needs. For example, in Istanbul, more than 50% of the population uses public transportation due to the high cost of fuel and taxes on one side, and the availability of affordable and advanced trains and buses on the other side. To sum up, owning a car became a priority for the majority of the citizens, ultimately leading to a huge raise in the city’s traffic. Nevertheless, governments can take serious steps in an attempt to reduce the use of cars.