Many people these days travel far for work or spend more hours working. Does this trend have more advantages or disadvantages? What do you think about work-life balance?

With the demand of business and the growing industrialisation, more and more people covering huge distances to reach their workplace and sparing more portion of their day for employers. This trend might have negatively impacted youngster's life, which will be discussed in this essay, along with the importance of work-life. Nowadays, with the change in the working environment and the fast-moving world, long queues of traffic to work and working hours in offices are skyrocketing which has a severe impact on a youth's mental and physical well-being. This has changed the schedule of that person in which hour distribution for family, fitness and other leisure activities is impactfully reducing and the majority portion is taken over by travel and job. To illustrate, an employee working with a Multinational company situated in Delhi (a metropolitan city), requires an additional one hour to commute to that location and one more hour to reach home. Furthermore, spending more and more days at the service, along with long travel time, impacts their social growth badly. An individual might not get proper sleep, quality life, take care of health, etc. This would not only affect that person but others as well whose life is associated with them. Hence, commuting and more service time would have a negative impact on the soul. Meanwhile, with this growing culture and policy of organisations of giving extra work-load, the work-life harmony of their employees has been disturbed drastically. Work-life balance refers to proper attribution of social as well as work actively in the individual's day which creates a balance of their mental and physical health, however, no such social activity remained and that created an imbalance. For example, if a person spends more and more hours looking at the computer and papers without any leisure hours like meeting people out of the job, spending and talking with parents or children, doing physical activity or taking proper sleep, this would ultimately cause social anxiety among the youths. Therefore, organisations must understand the need for it and encourage their staff to take proper breaks, instead, of being selfish to take more hours from them. In the conclusion, working more is not so bad, until and unless it will not comes at the cost of mental and physical well-being. In my opinion, harmony needs to be maintained for both, and this should be done by an individual along with their employer. Otherwise, the outcome of it will impact them both.