Young people who commit crimes should be treated the same way as adults. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Indubitably, crime rates have risen among young people in today's competitive world. Opinion is largely divided as to whether perpetrators should be treated identically regardless of their age. I consider myself an opponent of this proposal considering the negative impact on children's growth and their immaturity. To begin with, equalizing the penalties among young and grown-up offenders would have significant repercussions on the child's development. Firstly, adult lawbreakers are often ill-treated with malnourished diets, which would inflict the growth of adolescents if equal punishments are applied. This can also be exacerbated by the involvement of labour-intensive work in the adult rehabilitation programme. Such poor living conditions will not only hamper physical growth but also lead to reduced cognitive ability, wreaking havoc on their future social reintegration. In the worst-case scenario, these minors would commit suicide, as illustrated in the Times magazine in 2015. Another justification for my standpoint lies in the impressionable mind of a juvenile when committing a crime. Being minors, they are developmentally less mature, more impulsive, erratic and often vulnerable to negative peer pressure. As they are unable to distinguish good and bad deeds, young convicts may be lured into conducting such acts to satisfy their longings for attention or simply to prove themselves to their peers. These impulsive decisions differentiate young offenders from adult ones, whose crimes are usually conscious and premeditated. Such discrepancies could be seen in the case of John Kirk and the 17-year-old teenager in Oakland. Whole John Kirk lighted a nightclub with intent to endanger life, the teenager just accidentally set the clothing of another teenager on fire on a public bus, causing second -and- third level burns after a prank. With the contrasting mindsets, it would be unreasonable to punish them identically. To conclude, it is believed that all criminals, regardless of their age brackets, should be punished similarly. However, citing the far-reaching consequences on the natural growth of an adolescent and the underlying reasons behind their crimes, I emphatically believe that equal penalties would disadvantage these young lawbreakers.