It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives. Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages?

A common debate is whether specialists trained domestically in vocations including medicine and engineering are obliged to take on employment in their homeland or should have the discretion to choose an overseas role. This essay will first elaborate on the merits of each assessment, before explaining why I agree with the latter. Supporters of in-demand professions having to work where their education was provided have several justifications. The first is tertiary education is often subsidised by taxpayers. The cost of educating students is prohibitive, so if they do not receive government funding, only the wealthy will be able to graduate, limiting the opportunities for potentially brilliant talent. Therefore, alumni owe a duty to repay the society that assisted them. Furthermore, these professionals are likely to be more familiar with the unwritten cultural norms of the country, so can often achieve better outcomes for citizens. Nevertheless, many believe it must be a professional’s choice as to their employment’s locale. The most important consideration is they devote years of their lives to study, neglecting relationships and accruing debt. Allowing them to move overseas for higher income or a better lifestyle should be a reward for that sacrifice. For example, Indian doctors often move to Western nations because not only are the salaries significantly higher, but the natural environment is healthier for their families. In addition, it could be argued that all taxpayers receive benefits of some form or another and likewise have obligation to their country, creating a potential roadblock to any migration. To conclude, I believe both sides contain valid reasoning. However, in my opinion, if a country provides all citizens equal opportunities to be educated then there is no reason to limit anyone from freely making decisions about their career location. Moreover, I argue that migrants often contribute significantly to their homeland through financial remittances. Therefore, I suggest governments focus on creating the economic conditions that encourage in-demand professions to seek jobs locally