Some people think that drug addicts should be treated like criminals and sent to jail, while others believe that they should be treated like patients and sent hospital. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the present circumstance, while some individuals claim that narcotics users should be considered crimes and the government should confine them, others state that drug addiction should be treated as a mental problem that requires medical care. Personally, I myself support the first perspective, this essay will discuss both viewpoints and state my opinion. On the one hand, it is reasonable why the communities think that drug addiction is a mental illness. First and foremost, individuals who are addicted to banned substances would not have to capability to control themselves. As they abuse these chemicals longer, their thirst for drugs will only increase dramatically. Therefore, proper therapeutic methods are required to relieve them from their problems. Second, drug abusers also suffer from mental diseases because they are vulnerable when their immune system is weak. By treating them like patients and sending them to health facilities, families can ensure that drug addicts are safe and sound. On the other hand, drug addiction creates numerous disadvantages for both individuals and society. For one thing, as they can't fully control their behaviours, they have a tendency to commit crimes such as stealing, pickpocketing, or sexual abuse. Consequently, this phenomenon threatens people's security. Furthermore, addiction to drugs means a decline in morality as well as virtue. In some situations, drug abusers might inject indecent and wrong thoughts into children's minds, making kids have a wrong perspective about the surrounding environment. To illustrate, countless children now are accessing the internet to watch online streams of infamous individuals and behaving wrongly. This problem is affecting not only children but also the future as kids can't learn morality. In conclusion, although being addicted to drugs is a mental problem, it still possesses numerous threats that might harm both individuals and communities. Therefore, I strongly recommend that drug abusers should be confined and incarcerated in order to ensure social security.