With a growing population, many people believe that we should focus on producing more GM foods. What are the advantages and disadvantages of doing this?

In this modern era, we see the human community has multiplied when compared with the number of crops and vegetation that are produced. Although, a certain group of people argue that natural foods are more vital for human health which is a valid argument, however, it's not sustainable to grow by considering the overall population. The majority of people have to rely on genetically modified foods when satisfying hunger is the first priority. Let us begin with the merits of engineered crops. Firstly, they are free from pesticides and a large number of fruits and vegetables perish because of various insects and diseases, but, genetically modified grains are immune from various infections. Another major advantage is that this food can grow faster and larger in size than the traditional ones, which can be consumed by more than one person. Furthermore, certain DNA-modified produce can survive in a desert region where less water will be consumed for its growth. Despite of key benefits that are discussed above, It has several drawbacks. Firstly, when it comes to health, it possess a huge risk to humans which is the reason for deadly diseases like cancer and diabetes. In addition to that, it will damage the farmland and fertility of the soil which results in changing the land from fertile to dry and thus resulting in the land unsuitable for growing crops. Finally,It's very disappointing to see that organic products are not competitive enough to survive in the market due to the low cost of GMO foods. To conclude, although its partially proven that consuming GMO products possess a greater risk to human lives, it satisfies the hunger and daily needs of the majority of the world's population. Hence the positives of GMO produce outweigh the drawbacks.