Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmers (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Part of the population thinks that communities as well as teenagers would gain from teens spending some of their leisure time performing voluntary tasks. I can count myself among such part of the population and in this essay, I will explain why. First and foremost, work, no matter what kind, so long it is honest, benefits the individual and its community. Working is a fulfilling and growing experience. It teaches the individual new skills and sometimes is a path of self-discovery. Therefore, youngsters, given that they are in a period of development, would certainly benefit from the experience, becoming more responsible and aware of their role in society. Secondly, there is the benefit for the community. In all communities matters can be found that need to be addressed but, usually, there is no budget for it or aren’t a priority despite being in need to be addressed. Here can enter the teenage voluntary workforce to the rescue. A costless and hardworking force. As it is common knowledge that there is no greater force than an engaged teenager, if it can be made to get moving, that is. Moreover, teenagers like to feel important and public recognition of their work would be a great stimulus to a developing personality in need of positive reinforcement. In conclusion, I believe that teenagers should be given the opportunity to contribute, and a way to engage them would be letting them choose in what, among a set of proposals by the community, would they like to spend part of their free time.