Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can tackle this problem?

There are two major reasons for re-offenders. Firstly, the prison system often makes the situation worse. Criminals put together in prison often become friends with one another. While they are locked up in prison, they might not be interested in prison activities or have much to do. They tend to exchange information about what they had done before being sent to prison. They might even plan crimes with other inmates. Secondly, offenders find it difficult to find other sources of income. In most cases, they are poor, uneducated, and lack the skills required for well-paying jobs. Also, a criminal record does not make it easy to find a job. Not many people are open to hiring an ex-convict. To solve this issue, governments must focus on the rehabilitation of criminals instead of meting out punishment. Above all, prisons should provide vocational training so that the inmates are prepared for life outside the prison. It should teach them vital practical skills such as computer programming, car maintenance, and graphic design. This allows them to find work opportunities based on certain knowledge and skills. Community service is another great alternative to reform offenders. Rather than being locked up in prison with other inmates, offenders can contribute to society and become useful to their local community. These activities also help to eliminate the negative influence that prisons can have. In conclusion, it is true that re-offenders pose an ongoing issue. However, it can be solved by focusing on their rehabilitation rather than punishment.