Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments. Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

There has been a tremendous increase in the use of animals for research and other experiments. One section of the population argues that animal-based testing is not good and should not be allowed. Another group is of the view that the experiments should continue as they lead to crucial scientific inventions. I strongly think that the experimentation should continue as several inventions and cures have been possible because of it and there are no alternatives. There are growing voices to ban the use of animals for scientific testing. According to them, animals have every right to live. Most of the tests that are carried out on animals, either result in permanent damage or lead to their death. For example, scientists inject some chemicals to euthanize them so that the organs can be removed and studied. Thus, in order to bring an end to these practices, several animal-rights organizations such as PETA have raised petitions and undertaken various protests. On the other hand, humans have been able to find cures for several diseases which were once incurable because of these tests. Despite this, scientists have not been able to find remedies for cancer treatment and testing is going on continuously. Animals are primarily used because they are closest to humans and have short lifespans. For instance, dogs are used for testing as they anyways live only for 12 years at the maximum and are genetically similar to human beings. Moreover, there needs to be enough evidence and data before performing any tests on humans and there are no other alternatives. To summarize, today, because of social media and the ability to connect, we see petitions from animal lovers to stop using these non-speaking beings for research and medicine. However, since animals are biologically similar to man and there are no other alternatives, and people are still losing their lives to deadly diseases, I firmly believe that these experiments should not be prohibited.