Life was better when technology was simpler. To what extent do you agree and disagree?

Opinions are divided on whether life was better before the advent of modern technology. I believe that certain aspects of life were seemingly better without technological advances, but our life has been radically improved with the help of technology. Granted, older generations often say that their social life was better when technology was simple. For example, old people now often complain that modern people depend too much on communication tools such as social media sites. This dependence has inevitably led to lower levels of face-to-face interaction, potentially undermining people ’s relationships. However, without modern communication tools, people previously had to depend on letters to keep in touch with those living far away. This could take days or even weeks for a person to receive a letter, but people nowadays can instantly call or text each other via social networking sites. If used in moderation, these advanced communication tools can keep people ‘closer’ to one another, greatly improving their relationships. To add further credence to my assertion, I note how technology has evidently enhanced numerous other aspects of life. First and foremost, with advanced irrigation systems and the use of pesticides, crop yields have been improved exponentially. The abundance of food in most parts of the world has helped deal with starvation and hunger, and so relieved large proportions of the world population of the constant day-to-day struggle to survive. Furthermore, improvements in medical technology mean that sick people are treated more effectively, thereby allowing people to live longer and enjoy their lives more. Finally, the internet has facilitated teleworking and online learning, allowing a great number of people to pursue their educational or professional goals. This greatly contributes to their life satisfaction. In conclusion, technology, albeit potentially creating some problems if misused, has undoubtedly made modern life much better when compared to the past.