In the last decades, there has been a great increase in the number and variety of online courses available to adults. This has been welcomed as a great opportunity by many students, however, other students see these courses as less effective than classroom teaching. What are the advantages and disadvantages of studying an online courses?

In the past ten years, especially for the last two years when the world was suffered from the pandemic of COVID-19, the number of online courses growed rapidly thanks to the technology development, more online courses are introduced or revolued revalued from classroom teaching. Some people may value this development as an advancement of knowledge learning. A coin has two sides. Some people may regard the online courses less effective than the traditional classroom learning, First of all, the leading advantage of online courses is the saving of travelling time. Instead of going to a physical classroom to have lessons, people can start their classes online anywhere with any mobile or computer devices available. People could save plenty of travelling time and can focus their time on studying. Secondly, there are more options available for people to choose for online courses as the geographical location is no longer a restriction to people when they are considering what to study next. People could even study oversea online courses locally at home. However, as another token, it is difficult to create a sense of learning at home using the mobile device. People may be easily distracted by the notification poped up from the screen while having their classes. Moreover, there are fewer chances for students to interact with the other if they are studying online. Though there may be some discussion forum or chatroom available for students to exchange ideas, these kinds of digital communication may not be as valuable as interaction in person for some course, for example, the counselling courses. To sum up, there are pros and cons for each kind of teaching format, students should choose the one which suits them most and brings benefits outweighing costs.