Parents of obese children should be punished for making them fat? Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that mothers and fathers of overweight kids should be penalized due to supporting them to be fat. This essay disagrees with this statement because obesity can be caused by genetics and children usually eat unhealthy food outside of the home. Firstly, one of the reasons children become obese is genetics. Actually, kids receive the genes from the older generation of their family. Therefore, if someone has a slow metabolism, they are naturally inclined to gain more fat. For instance, a recent study found that 30% of the children in North America suffer from morbid obesity due to genetic disorders. Secondly, adults are not with their kids all day. When children are at school they eat snacks and adults have no control over their dietary intake during this time. A child could consume the majority of their calories during these unsupervised periods without their parents and much of this eating junk food at this moment. For example, recent research concluded that more than 70% of middle school students prefer hamburgers or hotdogs as lunch in school cafeterias. In conclusion, parents should not be sanctioned if their sons or daughters are too heavy because they are unable to supervise their diet during the day and genes play a main role in the weight of a human being.