Art classes, such as painting and drawing, are important to a child’s development as other subjects, so it should be compulsory in high schools. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Learning art is considered necessary due to the fact that it plays a pivotal role in children’s growth during their high school years. This writer agrees with the statement that art contributes to developing their mind. Some people may believe that spending time in art classes is a waste of time. This is because of a previously stereotyped belief that art is not helpful to children’s academic knowledge and career path, as it would only contain skills to draw invaluable paintings and colour mixing. Moreover, it could also depend on the child’s family’s traditional career choice which is thoroughly inherited by each generation, especially in Asian countries. To cite an example, in Vietnam, an extended family with the culture to become a doctor would frequently force their children to follow their paths, and require them to utilize their time to study science rather than investing it in meaningless art courses. Therefore, to many individuals, learning art would be a time-wasting and useless activity. However, art may contribute to developing a child’s mind in a significant way. By sketching and painting various objects, children would be provided with a strong memory, creativity, and also imagination. In other words, it would not only help increase the efficiency and productivity of the young generation who lead to work in the art field, specifically graphic designers or film producers, and other aspects, but also broaden their knowledge and ways of perceiving this ever-changing world. Furthermore, with a balancing schedule between art and different subjects, children would acquire equally theoretical and practical skills on various sides, as well as a fully-developed brain. Thus, it is easy to understand why art is believed as compulsory. Although some consider that art should not be treated as other subjects, I contend that it is prohibitively crucial in children’s development and skills.