The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent decades, online shopping has increased because of the advancement in technology. Today, a large section of society prefers to buy things such as clothes and groceries online. Experts throughout the developing and developed worlds have debated whether this trend will lead to the closing of retail shops or whether offline shops will continue to exist. Personally, I feel that online shopping will take over traditional shops in the future. In this essay, I will give examples from The Times Magazine and Oxford University to demonstrate points and prove arguments. To commence with, the internet has become very popular in the last decade. As a result, many people are using it to buy clothes, toys, groceries and furniture. Firstly, online shopping has made our life easy and convenient. Now, we do not have to leave our house and get stuck in traffic going shopping. Everything is available at a click of a button. For example, Oxford University published a paper stating that the number of people shopping online has increased by 40% in the last five years. Secondly, there are numerous new policies introduced by e-commerce giants like Amazon and Flipkart, which have made shopping even more fun. One of the policies is the "try and return policy", which means that now you can try the clothes and return them during the delivery if you don't like them. Moreover, these online sites give huge discounts, which attract common people. Traditional shops are not able to keep up with these e-commerce sites because there are numerous stakeholders in between, and they can't afford to sell items at such low prices. For instance, according to The Times Magazine, the owners of small shops get 5-10% profit on each item. Last but not least, the advancement of technology has made it possible to shop online through virtual reality. In the coming years, artificial technology will improve even more, and shoppers can buy and try anything by wearing VR goggles. To conclude, there is no limit to online shopping. There is a huge amount of money getting invested in e-commerce and technology to pull more and more customers. I feel that online shopping has more plus points than offline shopping. Instead of sticking to offline sales, the owners of the retail shops must set up a way to sell their items online if they want to continue their business.