Some people believe that the media, such as the press, TV and Internet should be more strictly controlled. Others feel that controls should be loosened to give people freer access to information. Discuss both views.

It is argued that banning some specific information from media is more beneficial to citizens, while others disagree that giving the population freedom for getting any resource or pictures is more favourable. In this essay, I will further explain both sides in detail in the ensuing paragraphs. Firstly, governments censor what the public sees or reads on the internet in some countries, in order to protect children from violent images. To a certain extent, censorship is necessary. For example, some adolescents access pornography and violence through video games or the internet. In this case, it would affect children's development in mental health and result in violent behaviours. Therefore, there should be age limits for certain websites or computer games. However, it is impossible for governments to control everything we see. For instance, even though the internet is controlled, more and more people in China have found plenty of ways to escape the limit and attempt to break censorship. In this case, these controlling would only get more negative feedback from the citizens. These indicate that it is better to teach kids how to search for appropriate knowledge by educating systems to the public and making a free society to browse those they are keen to. In conclusion, they have a number of benefits to children for restricting information, and bringing more healthy mental growth; however, it does not entirely work to control any inappropriate content by the press or TV. Therefore, it is highly suitable to provide the right concept from school instead of censoring any strange information.