Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like science and technology are more important than History. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

A group of people present the view that history is of paramount importance for school students, whereas others believe that, nowadays, some fields such as science and technology are more substantial than history. I strongly agree with the former opinion and my reasons will be given in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, some people justifiably argue that history teaches our children valuable life lessons. Reading our ancestors’ history provides an insight into different aspects of their lives. This way students are able to take full advantage of their experiences and use the positive ones in their lives and avoid the negative ones. Furthermore, history is a subject which provides a unique learning experience for children to become familiar with their origins. For example, in Iran, the education system benefits from history lessons to raise students ’ awareness about previous generations’ lifestyles. It assists pupils in living their lives in the right way. On the other hand, another group of people claim that science and technology are the newest fields of knowledge that should be taught to students. Consequently, we should care about them more than history. They firmly insist that we can live without learning history, while science and technology are integral parts of our lives these days. However, I do not find this argument convincing as we can learn from our ancestors’ mistakes. Learning science and technology without the usage of former generations’ experiences would seem meaningless. For example, when a new drug is going to be produced, scientists take previous experiences into consideration to yield effective results. In conclusion, in my view, history is a necessary and significant subject for school students. History offers priceless life lessons and learning opportunities. Moreover, it provides informative data that can be used in science and technology.