In many countries, people now wear western clothes such as suits and jeans rather than traditional clothing. Why is this the case? Is this a positive or negative development?

The trend of wearing English and European attire has been increasing exponentially for several years. This essay will discuss some major factors behind this mental inclination toward western fashion and I believe that these changes in attitudes have far more significant drawbacks than benefits because of the reasons that I will explain in detail. Several potential reasons associated with the changing behaviour in terms of buying and using modern clothes are clear. To begin with, communities from all over the earth are influenced by western culture and traditions. This is because those nations are more developed and society thinks that this thing has played a crucial role in their prosperity. Secondly, celebrities and athletes are also playing an imperative part in bringing this change because a huge number of individuals follow them, particularly on social media. The majority of the population, especially the young generation tend to look like them and have made these famous people their role models so they want to adopt their lifestyle and the way they dress. For instance, the hat of Micheal Jackson has become a trend in Pakistan to look more attractive and elegant. However, although this phenomenon is creating a wave of change all over the world. It seems that this activity has many negative consequences. Firstly, this thing poses a great threat to local traditions and cultural values as often the community do not like to wear domestic fashions. For example, many Asian communities are adopting the style of European countries and have started to wear pants and jeans instead of local pyjamas. Meanwhile, some argue that the world has become a global village, thus, if all nationalities would wear the same types of shirts, they might feel more connected with each other, which is one of the prospects of harmony in society. Despite the above argument being good to some extent, it seems to me that the world requires a variety in terms of cultures because it is important for the survival of human beings. In conclusion, although everyone nowadays wants to feel like developed nationalities by adopting their lifestyle in the area of fashion, I am convinced that in order to look more beautiful and maintain identity, we need variation in traditions across the globe.