There has been a dramatic growth in the number of people studying at universities in the last few decades. While some people see this as a positive trend which raises the general level of education within the community, others fear that it is lowering the quality of education. What are the advantages and disadvantages of the increase in student numbers at university?

Over the last ten to twenty years, the number of enrollments per year at universities is increasing rapidly. For some people, it creates a positive aspect by increasing the educational standard of the community whereas, others believe that it is lowering the quality. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of the above-mentioned topic. The rising trends of the learners are considered beneficial as it will develop a community of literate people. This would create an impact on the actions of individuals, as everyone would live in harmony, and spread positivity as a sign of literacy. This would also bring an understanding of the concepts of relearn-unlearn, this is a modern concept which means traditional beliefs that should be forgotten or learnt from a new perspective respectively. For instance, Northern Pakistan has a literacy rate of 99%, and there is no doubt that it is a great attractive tourist place for its innovation and discipline. The downsides of a high number of students include unemployment. The markets have limited jobs for every profession, as every year, the graduate would pass out with an expectation of quality jobs but not all of them would be able to make it. Since, this would force people to compromise and work anywhere at a lower wage. Moreover, this will lead to depression and other medical issues for many of them. For example, in Time Magazine, it was mentioned that the number of students who graduate each year is 2x times more than the job available in the market. In conclusion, the increased number of students at universities has the benefit of creating a powerful and literate society, but at the same time is prone to getting unemployed and suffering from medical issues in the near future.