Write about the following topic. Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think it is a waste of time. Discuss both views and give your opinion Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, given the highly competitive environment in schools, it is often argued that learning art is time -wasting and children should focus on core subjects such as math or science. From my perspective, this viewpoint is not entirely convincing since art offers significant advantages to students as follows. To begin with, art plays a crucial role in fostering interdisciplinary thinking abilities. In modern society, there are myriad conundrums to solve which are so complex that people cannot solve easily. As the key solution is interdisciplinary thinking, schools should guarantee sufficient time to experience art by assigning music and painting classes. For example, in this complex society, numerous scholars from different areas currently gather together to settle issues. In this respect, students should have abilities to cross boundaries in their studies. Additionally, attending art classes can help students to be more creative, indirectly contributing to higher academic scores. When facing problems, by thinking in various ways, students can settle difficulties wisely. Therefore, children at schools should take art classes as an essential subject. Admittedly, some insist that students could be deprived of their time by studying art. To achieve the ultimate goal of gaining admission to prestigious schools, some might view art as a less valuable pursuit. In this context, it is understandable why people think in this way. However, even though adolescents do not study art, there is a higher possibility that students spend their free time on games or any other leisurely activities. Moreover, art activities could help children to relieve stress, assisting them in focusing on studying. Thus, learning art would not be a waste of time, helping adolescents to achieve the goal. In conclusion, while some argue that art is unnecessary to students, it is absolutely beneficial for students by giving cross-disciplinary talents and by enhancing originality. Therefore, schools should ensure that students have ample opportunities to engage in artistic activities.