Despite health warnings, a large number of people continue to smoke all over the world. Why should we be concerned about this? What solutions would you suggest? Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

These days, non-profit organisations become more active and are spreading awareness with respect to increasing health issues in society. However, the major concern for them is the increasing trend of smoking among youngsters. Even though lots of health warnings are issued, people still not getting serious about its consequences. This essay will discuss the reason behind such concern and the possible solution to overcome this issue. Smoking is injurious to health, gases released from it are highly toxic in nature. These gases go into the lungs and create a charcoal-like substance, which will then get accumulated over the period of continuous smoking. This leads to various well-being hazards such as asthma, lung failure, cancer, lung puncture, etc. For instance, one of my close friends is a chain smoker, due to which he feels difficulties while doing some sort of exercises like running, sprinting, etc. which arises due to smoking and impacted his breathing capacity. Furthermore, nowadays, smoking is getting popular among youngsters and is considered a symbol of a premium lifestyle. Hookah or shisha, which is used as non-toxic and flavoured smoking, has the same effect on the lungs as we light a cigarette. To illustrate, in Dubai, the market for shisha is at its peak, and restaurants have a wide variety of flavour options that are enjoyed by the youth without being aware of its consequences. Hence, we should consider it a serious problem, since, it has a negative impact on the well-being of our society. Moreover, this issue can be tackled with an intervention of harsh rules and regulations by the law. The regulatory bodies should ban the smoking of flavoured Hookah or Shisha in bars and restaurants. Also, they should put a ban on its sale to youngsters and shall also limit its supply chain. For example, the Indian government has restricted the open sale of Hookah in pubs or at eating joints. As a result of which it has limited use in India as compared to Dubai. Therefore, the Authorities should take a step ahead for the well-being of its population. To conclude, though everyone is aware of the side effects of smoking, their habits are restricting them to consider their well-being over and above. In my opinion, if the government put some strict rules on consumption, this might initiate reduce its consumption.