In some countries older people are being encouraged to work longer and not to retire. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of working beyond retirement age.

On the one hand, the aged population are advised to engage themselves even after attaining retirement age, in order to have financial independence and be physically active. Firstly, this is the age to take a break and enjoy the remaining life, however, monetary support creates hurdles. Some countries have a pension schemes for that age group and some do not have such facilities, in the later case, to earn their bread and butter they depend on their self-income source. For example, in the country like India, where no such retirement benefit is provided by authorities, people used to work during their retirement age. Furthermore, the body of a person loses its energy with growing age, whereas, this might not get faded if a person keeps themselves engaged in some work. For instance, Mr Balwant is at the age of 70, working in its small confectionary shop is more healthy, as compared to, Mr Ramesh who is retired and resting at his home all day. Hence, it is better for them to keep moving their body, also instead of depending on others to earn their own money.