In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In some countries, children are encouraged to meet their demands from an early age by striving a lot. While there are some drawbacks associated with taking this measure, I believed the main advantages are more substantial. On the one hand, a potential disadvantage of this issue is that if children try to achieve a goal strongly, it will result in some problems with their characteristics. Children do not have to indulge in working or doing activities so as to getting their goals. They also should play and have fun with their peers at this age. If they always consider their future or plans, they will prone to become depressed. From their point of view, parents should undertake the responsibility to supply for their children ’s needs. On the other hand, a primary advantage of striving from childhood to meet our demands can give rise to a more courageous person in the future. Therefore, it opens the door to examining different means of achievement. From a psychological viewpoint, children should be taught to learn how to get their needs or wishes during the first seven years of their lives. During this period, parents do not have to meet their children ’s expectations when they start to cry or nag. Families should encourage their children to try to meet their demands. A further positive point is that children are more likely to become independent people. They would not too reliant on their parents, and will yield desirable results over the next years. It is also worth mentioning that trying in each step of life plays a vital role in being successful. On balance, it is true that encouraging children to try a lot for their needs would seem disadvantageous under certain circumstances. However, in my opinion, its positive effects in terms of making people independent and brave to follow their dreams and wishes in the future.