In some countries, too much money is spent by both the government and individuals on national festivals, such as the new year. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is commonly argued that too significant part of government and individual budgets is spent on national holidays like Halloween or Christmas. In my opinion, it is a relevant statement when referring to effective utilization of taxes by authorities and proper management of savings when it comes to individuals. It is commonly understood that solving social and economical issues should be one of the government's main responsibilities. Although holiday budgets are usually quite high, we can often hear that certain important institutions like public schools or fire departments face a lack of financing. Therefore, proper budget management and prioritization of spendings should solve this discrepancy. For example, authorities of Warsaw decided to cancel the celebration of the New Year 2022 since there is a high risk of deficit of fuels during winter period. As for individuals, people usually share the same opinion.